The TCR World Tour takes over from the now defunct World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) as a top tier international touring car championship. Events will be held in Asia, Americas, Europe, and Oceania. Nine of the more than 200 TCR-sanctioned events of the season will be selected to be part of the TCR World Tour. These nine events will be selected from those of the TCR-sanctioned series over four continents.

Lynk & Co Cyan Racing started a FIA World Touring Car Cup programme in 2019 with fierce opposition from seven global automotive brands in the form of Audi, Alfa Romeo, Honda, Hyundai, Peugeot, SEAT and Volkswagen. The team claimed the drivers' and teams' world titles in 2020 and 2021, the team's fifth consecutive world titles.

The race car
The drivers
The calendar
The championship