​Yvan Muller on reversed grid pole as Yann Ehrlacher score vital points


Yvan Muller secured the reversed grid pole position in qualifying for the FIA World Touring Car Cup races at a wet Hungaroring, as Yann Ehrlacher scored important points.

Points leader Yann Ehrlacher was third fastest in the first qualifying session, securing three points to the standings.

"I really didn't expect to be third in the first qualifying after the struggles we had in practice. But we managed to maximise our chances today and I'm really looking forward to the races tomorrow," said Yann Ehrlacher.

Quadruple world champion Yvan Muller secured the reversed grid pole position for Race 2 by finishing tenth in the second qualifying session and will have team-mate Yann Ehrlacher right next to him on the grid.

"We were very worried after the practice sessions, we didn't expect to be in the top ten. But fortunately we did it and we have a very strong position for the second race," said Yvan Muller.

Santiago Urrutia was eighth fastest in the first qualifying session and aborted his Q2 lap as part of the team's strategy go secure the reversed grid pole position.

"I'm very happy with my performance and that I made it to Q2. I'm also happy for the team and that we were able to secure these results after a tough time in the practice sessions," said Santiago Urrutia.

Thed Björk struggled in qualifying, stating that he lacked grip on the cold and wet track.

"The result was not good at all for me. We're not sure what happened, but I just lost a lot of grip for qualifying and I could not get a good lap time together. We will fight back tomorrow," said Thed Björk.

The first race of the weekend starts at 09:15 CEST tomorrow.

FIA WTCR Race of Hungary

Qualifying 1
Qualifying 2
Qualifying 3

Times in CEST
Sunday October 18th
09:15-09:45 - Race 1 (12 laps)
12:15-12:45 - Race 2 (12 laps)
16:15-16:50 - Race 3 (15 laps)

Standings - Drivers
1 Yann Ehrlacher 116 points
2 Tom Coronel 92 (-24)
3 Esteban Guerrieri 88 (-28)
4 Gilles Magnus 82 (-34)
5 Nathanaël Berthon 78 (-38)
6 Yvan Muller 74 (-42)
9 Thed Björk 64 (-52)
13 Santiago Urrutia 46 (-70)

Standings - Teams
1 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 190 points
2 Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport 170 (-20)
3 All-Inkl.com Münnich Motorsport 162 (-28)
4 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 110 (-80)
5 Engstler Hyundai 76 (-114)

Media contact
Johan Meissner
Press Manager
Cyan Racing
+46(0)70 241 3234

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed the last three touring car World titles, most recently the 2019 WTCR team title with Lynk & Co – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015, including the concept models Volvo C30 and S60 Polestar Concept Prototype.

About Lynk & Co
Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.