​Yvan Muller wins in Macau to close in on WTCR points lead


Yvan Muller won the opening FIA World Touring Car Cup race of the weekend at the legendary Macau street circuit. The Lynk & Co Cyan Racing driver has closed in on the points lead, moving up to third position, 36 points from the lead.

The quadruple World Champion started from pole position and controlled the race from lights to flag.

"This was a great race. I got a good start and a good first lap which is vital at Macau. Michelisz was close behind and he is very stable and quick, but I managed to keep the gap that I needed to lead. To win in Macau on Lynk & Co's first visit here feels especially good," said Yvan Muller.

Thed Björk finished fifth from seventh on the grid to secure vital points to the team championship with team-mate Yvan Muller, extending the points lead to 23 points over Hyundai.

"Starting from seventh position at Macau is never easy, but finishing fifth is under the circumstances ok. I look forward to the first race tomorrow when I start from second position on the grid," said Thed Björk.

Andy Priaulx finished sixth and team-mate Yann Ehrlacher crossed the line in eighth position, with both drivers playing the team role to help title contenders Yvan Muller and Thed Björk.

"I am really happy to help the team. Personally, my results are getting better and better. I still think there is another level to go, so I'm very positive. I was closing on Norbi in the race, but he was very strong in the first sector and I didn't have the pace to pass," said Andy Priaulx.

"There are positive things to take out of this race. We optimised the team championship points and I managed to get some points to the drivers' championship as well, closing in on fifth place overall. I'm really looking forward to the first race tomorrow when I start from pole position," said Yann Ehrlacher.

The WTCR weekend at Macau continues tomorrow with two races. The first race starts at 08:20 local time/01:20 CET, with Yann Ehrlacher starting from pole position and Thed Björk from second place.

FIA WTCR Race of Macau

Results Race 1

Times in CET (local time is +7h)

Sunday November 17th
01:45-02:10 – Race 2 (8 laps)
04:25-04:55 – Race 3 (11 laps)

Points for drivers – Top 5
1 Norbert Michelisz Hyundai i30 306 points
2 Esteban Guerrieri Honda Civic 288 (-18)
3 Yvan Muller Lynk & Co 03 270 (-36)
4 Thed Björk Lynk & Co 03 259 (-47)
5 Gabriele Tarquini Hyundai 200 (-106)
8 Yann Ehrlacher Lynk & Co 03 191 (-115)
20 Andy Priaulx Lynk & Co 03 78 (-228)

Points for teams – Top 5
1 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 529 points
2 BRC Hyundai Squadra 506 (-23)
3 Münnich Motorsport 486 (-43)
4 BRC Hyundai Lukoil 283 (-246)
5 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 269 (-260)

Contact information
Johan Meissner
Press Manager
Cyan Racing
+46(0)70 241 3234

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed multiple titles, most recently the 2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup team title and the double 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship titles for driver and manufacturer – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015.

About Lynk & Co
Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.