Yann Ehrlacher climbs the order in the first Nürburgring race


Yann Ehrlacher fought his way to sixth position in the first FIA World Touring Car Cup race of the weekend at the infamous Nürburgring Nordschleife in Germany to score vital points.

"I had a mega start but got pushed wide in the second corner and lost two positions. Then I was just following the train and I was close to Vervisch at the end but it was too risky to make a move. I am quite happy with our race pace and to gain positions on the Nürburgring is something I can be pleased with," said Yann Ehrlacher.

2017 touring car World Champion Thed Björk had a tough race, dropping from fifth position on the grid to finish eleventh after bogging down at the start.

"I lost the race at the start as the car just bogged down, the first time this has happened to me. It was not much I could do from there, just follow the cars in front of me. I had no problems to follow the pace of the cars around me and I am obviously disappointed with the result," said Thed Björk.

There was plenty of contact in the first corner of the first lap that saw Yvan Muller eliminated after contact with a Volkswagen driver, retiring with suspension damage.

Andy Priaulx also received damage in the Turn 1 chaos and struggled with right-rear damage throughout the race.

"I have quite a heavily damaged right rear from contact with Azcona and Langevelt on the first lap, so I just drove to get the experience here. I was off the pace due to the damage, let's continue to fight tomorrow," said Andy Priaulx.

The second and third race of the WTCR weekend in Germany takes place at 11:00 and 12:20 CEST respectively tomorrow.

FIA WTCR Race of Germany

Results Race 1

Times in CEST

Saturday June 22nd
11:00-11:35 – Race 2 (3 laps)
12:20-12:55 – Race 3 (3 laps)

Points for drivers – Top 5
1 Esteban Guerrieri Honda Civic 189 points
2 Norbert Michelisz Hyundai i30 161 (-28)
3 Thed Björk Lynk & Co 03 156 (-33)
4 Néstor Girolami Honda Civic 154 (-35)
5 Mikel Azcona Cupra TCR 120 (-69)
6 Yvan Muller Lynk & Co 03 107 (-82)
8 Yann Ehrlacher Lynk & Co 03 98 (-91)
19 Andy Priaulx Lynk & Co 03 37 (-152)

Points for teams – Top 5
1 Münnich Motorsport 343 points
2 BRC Hyundai Squadra 268 (-75)
3 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 263 (-80)
4 BRC Hyundai Lukoil 170 (-173)
5 PWR Racing 155 (-188)
6 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 135 (-208)

Contact information
Johan Meissner
Press Manager
Cyan Racing
+46(0)70 241 3234

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed multiple titles, most recently the 2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup team title and the double 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship titles for driver and manufacturer – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015.

About Lynk & Co
Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.