​Flash report: Yvan Muller sets blistering lap to claim pole and another 1-2-3


Yvan Muller set a blistering lap time to claim his first FIA World Touring Car Cup pole position of 2019 at Zandvoort, leading a second consecutive Lynk & Co Cyan Racing 1-2-3 with nephew Yann Ehrlacher second and yesterday's winner Thed Björk in third.

"I probably went beyond a limit during my lap that a 49-year-old should not do. I couldn't breathe on my in-lap. I am very happy with this result and it was a long time I felt as good about a lap like this one," said Yvan Muller.

Yvan Muller and team-mate Thed Björk managed a unique identical lap time in the penultimate Q2 session of qualifying, with both setting the time 1:44:668 and having 0.000 seconds between them.

"Yvan did a fantastic lap in Q3, I couldn't get close to him then. It feels really nice to be in the top three with three cars from our team and I look forward to the races later today," said Thed Björk.

22-year-old Yann Ehrlacher was closest to challenge Yvan Muller in Q3 and was four tenths of a second behind.

"To secure a family front row with Yvan is quite nice. I am pleased with my lap but I still want to improve as I can see that the car can do better from what Yvan did. I will improve myself for the races and score as much points as possible, because I need a lot now to come back in the championship," said Yann Ehrlacher.

Andy Priaulx had a tough qualifying session when the team unfortunately miscalculated the time for a setup change that meant the three-time World Champion could not perform his final attempt.

"We made a setup change that was not correct for the timing and the track got faster for the final run. It is obviously a disappointment but at the same time I am very happy for Yvan and the guys to secure another 1-2-3," said Andy Priaulx.

The second of the three races at Zandvoort in the Netherlands starts at 13:15 CEST and the final race starts at 16:35.

UPDATE: Yvan Muller had his Q3 lap removed due to over-boost during his lap and was moved from first to fifth position. Yann Ehrlacher inherits the pole position with Thed Björk moved up to second place.

Results Q3

Results Q2

Results Q1

Points for drivers – Top 5
1 Esteban Guerrieri Honda Civic 127 points
2 Néstor Girolami Honda Civic 126 (-1)
3 Thed Björk Lynk & Co 03 120 (-7)
4 Norbert Michelisz Hyundai 104 (-23)
5 Mikel Azcona Cupra TCR 99 (-28)
7 Yvan Muller Lynk & Co 03 94 (-33)
12 Yann Ehrlacher Lynk & Co 03 59 (-68)
16 Andy Priaulx Lynk & Co 03 36 (-91)

Points for teams – Top 5
1 Münnich Motorsport 253 points
2 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 214 (-39)
3 BRC Hyundai Squadra 200 (-53)
4 PWR Racing 133 (-120)
5 BRC Hyundai Lukoil 113 (-140)
9 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 95 (-158)

Times in CEST
Sunday May 19th
13:15-13:45 – Race 2 (12 laps)
16:35–17:15 – Race 3 (15 laps)

WTCR Balance of Performance and Compensation Weights

Contact information
Johan Meissner
Press Manager
Cyan Racing
+46(0)70 241 3234

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed multiple titles, most recently the 2018 FIA World Touring Car Cup team title and the double 2017 FIA World Touring Car Championship titles for driver and manufacturer – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015.

About Lynk & Co
Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.