Prince Carl Philip climbs Swedish GT standings with second win of 2017

The Polestar Cyan Racing duo Prince Carl Philip and Thed Björk won a thrilling second Swedish GT race at Karlskoga to climb the championship standings to second position, within reach of the lead.

Prince Carl Philip started the race from third position on the grid and made his way past Ferrari driver and title rival Ingvar Mattsson early on.

”I am very happy with this win and to move forward in the championship. We had a good race today and Thed did a stellar job as usual. I am looking forward to build on this success for the final two races,” said Prince Carl Philip.

Björk took over the wheel during the mandatory pit stop and was able to get past race leader and former championship leader Jan Brunstedt, a lead he was to keep until the chequered flag despite hard pressure from Ferrari driver Fredrik Larsson.

”It was a great race, I had to attack really hard throughout my entire stint. Prince Carl Philip did a great job again, handing the car over to me in second place. The car felt perfect and a big thanks to everyone in the team that made this victory possible,” said Thed Björk.

The victory, the second of 2017, has elevated Prince Carl Philip to second position in the championship, just six points behind Ferrari 488 drivers Larsson and Mattsson.

”We had high ambitions for this weekend and while our results in the first race was hindered by difficult conditions, day two went according to plan. Thed, Prince Carl Philip and the team did an amazing job and we look forward to the final two races with confidence,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.

The penultimate Swedish GT race of 2017 takes place on September 2-3rd at Anderstorp:

Swedish GT Karlskoga
Circuit: Karlskoga Motorstadion
Length: 2400 m
Lap record (STCC): 1:04.560 (Ekblom)

Race 1 – Top 5
1 Jan Brunstedt Audi R8 LMS Ultra 31 laps
2 Björk/Bernadotte Volvo S60 +20.834
3 Larsson/Mattsson Ferrari 488 +21.594
4 Palm/Engelbrekt Porsche 911 GT3 Cup +24.108
5 Krüger/Mäkinen Ferrari 458 +42.716

Race 2 – Top 5
1 Björk/Bernadotte Volvo S60 26 laps
2 Larsson/Mattsson Ferrari 488 +0.555
3 TIdstrand/Kressner Ferrari 488 +19.476
4 Mäkinen/Krüger Ferrari 458 +24.300
5 Krister Andero Porsche 911 GT3 Cup +1 lap

Qualifying 1 – Top 5
1 Fredrik Larsson Ferrari 488 1:03.786
2 Thed Björk Volvo S60 +0.082
3 Oscar Krüger Ferrari 458 +0.745
4 Oscar Palm Porsche 911 GT3 Cup +0.810
5 Rebuen Kressner Ferrari 458 +1.043

Qualifying 2 – Top 5
1 Jan Brunstedt Audi R8 LMS Ultra 1:05.010
2 Ingvar Mattsson Ferrari 488 +0.369
3 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +0.530
4 Mats Tidstrand Ferrari 488 +0.578
5 Peter Eriksson Porsche 911 GT3 Cup +0.877

Championship standings
GTA – Top 5
1 Fredrik Larsson Ferrari 488 113 points
1 Ingvar Mattsson Ferrari 488 113 points
3 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 107 (-6)
4 Jan Brunstedt Audi R8 LMS Ultra 105 (-8)
5 Thed Björk Volvo S60 89 (-24)

2017 Swedish GT Entry List
No – Driver – Team – Car
GTA Class
7 – Kari Mäkinen – Euroracing – Ferrari 458
7 – Oscar Krüger – Euroracing – Ferrari 458
11 – Toni Persic – TPR Motorsport – Chevrolet Camaro
13 – Carl Philip Bernadotte – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60
13 – Thed Björk – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60
25 – Peter Eriksson – TBA – Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
45 – Krister Andero – TBA – Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
67 – Erik Hjeltman – Brovallen Design – Ford Mondeo
98 – Jan Brunstedt – JB Motorsport – Audi R8 LMS Ultra
99 – Ingvar Mattsson – Mattsson Motorsport – Ferrari 488
99 – Fredrik Larsson – Mattsson Motorsport – Ferrari 488
GTB Class
20 – Philip Morin – Mtech Competition – Porsche Cayman GT4
20 – Linus Pröjtz – Mtech Competition – Porsche Cayman GT4
21 – Håkan Ricknäs – Ricknäs Motorsport – Porsche Cayman GT4
21 – Thomas Martinson – Ricknäs Motorsport – Porsche Cayman GT4
31 – Hans Söderholm – Ricknäs Motorsport – Porsche 911 GT4
31 – Marcus Söderholm – Ricknäs Motorsport – Porsche 911 GT4
50 – Thomas Belfrage – Euroracing – Ferrari 360
51 – Peter Larsen – Primus Racing – Ginetta G55
51 – Johan Rosén – Primus Racing – Ginetta G55
60 – Franck Århage – Århage Racing – Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
65 – Bror Ellfolk – TBA – Ginetta G55
65 – Niclas Lindström – TBA – Ginetta G55
88 – Erik Behrens – Alfab Racing – McLaren 570S
88 – Daniel Roos – Alfab Racing – McLaren 570S

2017 Swedish GT Calendar
Date Circuit Country
04-06 May Knutstorp Sweden
07-09 July Falkenberg Sweden
11-13 August Karlskoga Sweden
01-03 September Anderstorp Sweden
14-16 September Mantorp Park Sweden

Contact Details
Johan Meissner, Press Manager
+46(0)70 241 3234

About Polestar
Polestar is Volvo Car Group’s performance road car brand and was founded by Polestar Racing, today known as Cyan Racing. Polestar’s birth was a result of Cyan Racing’s race engineers desire to explore how technology behind the multiple title-winning success in racing could be applied to the performance of road going Volvo cars, on all roads and conditions in everyday life. The first road-going performance Concepts were launched in 2010 and the first performance cars, based on the Volvo S60, were ready in 2012. In 2015, Volvo Cars acquired Polestar Performance. Today, Polestar builds the S60 and V60 Polestar, 367 hp performance road cars with over 250 developments over-and-above the standard Volvo products. It also offers Polestar Engineered performance hardware upgrades and engine software optimisations for existing Volvo products.

In the future, Polestar will become a new separately-branded electrified high-performance car company. Polestar will offer a portfolio of bespoke Polestar branded cars that will no longer carry a Volvo logo. Polestar will enjoy specific technological and engineering synergies with Volvo Cars and benefit from significant economies of scale as a result of its connection to Volvo. These synergies will allow it to design, develop and build world beating electrified high performance cars.

About Cyan Racing
Founded in 1996 and today known as Cyan Racing, the privately owned and operated company has been Volvo Car Group’s official team in motorsport since its conception. Cyan Racing has claimed multiple titles with the Volvo 850, S40, C30 and S60. Today, the company enjoys success on track with the Polestar road car brand as Polestar Cyan Racing in pursuit of both the World Touring Car Championship and Swedish GT, racing the Volvo S60 Polestar road going performance car.