Robert Dahlgren extends championship lead after Anderstorp qualifying

Robert Dahlgren extended his championship lead over Polestar Cyan Racing team mate Richard Göransson after the STCC qualifying session at Anderstorp.

”I am quite pleased with the qualifying result with 50 kilos of ballast, but especially to secure vital points to the championship. My Q1 lap was as good as it could get, but I had a problem with the gearbox in Q2 that cost some time. The feeling is good ahead of the races tomorrow,” said Robert Dahlgren.

Dahlgren was second fastest in both qualifying sessions, carrying 40 kilos less than pole sitter Johan Kristoffersson, while Göransson was fifth in Q1 and third in Q2.

”Unfortunately I had some traffic on my fastest lap in Q1, but I was either way not able to get the best out of the car today. We are going to work one some changes for tomorrow and I am confident that we have a good race car and my goal of course is to climb in the races,” said Richard Göransson.

Prince Carl Philip had a tough qualifying session and was ninth in the first Q1 session, meaning a reversed grid front row start for the second race.

”We worked on some changes to the car between the sessions that unfortunately did not work as we hoped for. We are going to analyse this and continue the work for the races tomorrow,” said Prince Carl Philip.

The first qualifying session, Q1, awards points to the championship where Dahlgren secured 18 points for second place and has extended his lead to 15 points over Göransson in second place.

”We are at the longest circuit of the calendar with both Robert and Richard on 50 kilos of penalty weight. For Robert to miss pole by just a tenth of a second is a really good job,” said Alexander Murdzevski Schedvin, Head of Motorsport at Polestar.

The first race of the Anderstorp weekend starts at 13:00 CET tomorrow, watch the races live on and follow the team behind the scenes on


STCC Anderstorp
Circuit: Anderstorp
Length: 4025 m
Lap record (STCC): 1:35.470, Göransson

Q1 – Top 5
1 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León 1:33.288
2 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +0.420
3 Emma Kimiläinen SEAT León +0.852
4 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 +0.891
5 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 +1.042

8 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 +2.532

Q2 – Top 5
1 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León 1:33.718
2 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 +0.128
3 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 +0.273
4 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 +0.548
5 Emma Kimiläinen SEAT León +1.127

(Times in CET)
Sunday 19/6
13:00 Race 1
16:00 Race 2

TV Schedule
Sweden: SVT2 – 18:00 27/5
Live online:

Championship standings
Drivers – Top 5
1 Robert Dahlgren Volvo S60 133 points
2 Richard Göransson Volvo S60 118 (-15)
3 Johan Kristoffersson SEAT León 84 (-49)
4 Daniel Haglöf SEAT León 63 (-70)
5 Björn Wirdheim Saab 9-3 57 (-76)

10 Carl Philip Bernadotte Volvo S60 20 (-113)

Team – Top 5
1 Polestar Cyan Racing 256 points
2 SEAT Dealer Team 150 (-106)
3 Flash Engineering 132 (-124)
4 Dacia Dealer Team 70 (-164)
5 Brovallen Design 42 (-214)

2016 Scandinavian Touring Car Championship Entry List
Driver – Team – Car
Robert Dahlgren – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60
Richard Göransson – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60
Carl Philip Bernadotte – Polestar Cyan Racing – Volvo S60
Johan Kristoffersson – PWR Racing – SEAT León
Emma Kimiläinen – PWR Racing – SEAT León
Daniel Haglöf – PWR Racing – SEAT León
Björn Wirdheim – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3
Reuben Kressner – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3
Linus Ohlsson – Flash Engineering – Saab 9-3
Mattias Andersson – Dacia Dealer Team – Dacia SE
Rasmus Mårthen – Brovallen Design – Ford Mondeo

Scandinavian Touring Car Championship 2016 Calendar
31-1/5 Skövde Airport Race
26/5 Mantorp Park
18-19/6 Anderstorp
09-10/7 Falkenberg
13-14/8 Karlskoga
02-03/9 Solvalla
23-24/9 Knutstorp

About Polestar
Polestar is the performance brand of Volvo Cars. The company was founded as a motorsport team in 1996 and has been successful in numerous championships, racing with various Volvo models. In 2009, Polestar started to offer performance related products and thereby intensified the business relations with Volvo Cars. The first performance cars, based on Volvo’s S60 and V60, were launched in 2014.
In 2015, Volvo Cars acquired the performance unit of Polestar, as a strong commitment towards a credible performance offer and with the mission to define future premium performance.

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing is the motorsport partner to Polestar. The company is owned by Christian Dahl and handles all motorsport operations of Polestar. Cyan Racing, formerly named Polestar Racing, has claimed five STCC drivers’ titles and seven STCC teams’ titles with the Volvo 850, S40, C30 and S60.